Central Government Holidays 2021 List

The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions announced the holiday’s list of 2021 on 10th June 2020. In this article, you will find the list of central government holidays of the year 2021.

Central Government Holidays 2021 List

Important Points Related to the Central Government Holiday’s List 2021

1. A central government employee will also be allowed to avail any two holidays chosen from the restricted holiday’s list.

2. The central government administrative offices located outside Delhi or New Delhi shall observe three holidays in addition to the compulsory holiday list given below

  1. Republic day
  2. Independence day
  3. Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday
  4. Buddha purnima
  5. Christmas day
  6. Dussehra (Vijay Dashmi)
  7. Diwali (Deepawali)
  8. Good Friday
  9. Guru Nanak’s birthday
  10. IDU’L Fitr
  11. IDU’L Zuha
  12. Mahavir Jayanti
  13. Muharram
  14. Prophet Muhammad’s birthday (ID-E-Milad)

3. The additional holidays to be opted by the central government employees welfare coordination committee and other places in the state is given below.

  1. An Additional Day For Dusshera
  2. Holi
  3. Janmashtami (Vaishnavi)
  4. Ram Navami
  5. Maha Shivratri
  6. Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayak Chaturthi
  7. Makar Sankaranti
  8. Rath Yatra
  9. Onam
  10. Pongal
  11. Sri Panchami / Basant Panchami
  12. Vishnu / Vaisakhi / Vaisakhadi / Bhag Bihu / Mashadi Ugadi / Chaitra Sukladi / Cheti Chand / Gudi Padava / 1st Navratra / Naoraz / Chhath Pooja / Karva Chauth

4. The list of restricted holidays in this article is meant only for the central government offices located in Delhi or New Delhi. The coordination committees at the state capitals may produce a separate restricted holidays list.

5. The central government offices located outside Delhi or New Delhi at state capitals are authorized to change the date of holiday based on the concerned state government/ union territories’ decision.

List of Central Government Holidays in the Year 2021 For Administrative Offices of Central Government at Delhi/New Delhi

Sr No.HolidayDateDay
1942 Saka Era
1Republic Day26 January 2021Tuesday
2Holi29 March 2021Monday
1943 Saka Era
3Good Friday2 April 2021Friday
4Ram Navami21 April 2021Wednesday
5Mahavir Jayanti25 April 2021Sunday
6Id-Ul-Fitr14 May 2021Friday
7Budha Purnima26 May 2021Wednesday
8Id-Ul-Zuha (Bakri Id)21 July 2021Wednesday
9Independence Day15 August 2021Sunday
10Muharram19 August 2021Thursday
11Janmasthami30 August 2021Monday
12Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday2 October 2021Saturday
13Dusshera15 October 2021Friday
14Id-e-Milad19 October 2021Tuesday
15Diwali (Deepawali)4 November 2021Thursday
16Guru Nanak's Birthday19 November 2021Friday
17Christmas Day25 December 2021Saturday

List of Restricted Central Government Holiday’s For Administrative Offices of Central Government at Delhi/New Delhi

Sr No.HolidayDateDay
Saka Era 1942
1New Year's Day1 January 2021Friday
2Lohri13 January 2021Wednesday
3Makar Sankranti/ Magha Bihu/ Pongal14 January 2021Thursday
4Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday20 January 2021Wednesday
5Sri Panchami16 February 2021Tuesday
6Shivaji Jayanti19 February 2021Friday
7Hazarat Ali’s Birthday26 February 2021Friday
8Guru Ravi Das’s Birthday27 February 2021Saturday
9Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti8 March 2021Monday
10Maha Shivaratri11 March 2021Thursday
Saka Era 1943
11Holika Dahan /Dolyatra28 March 2021Sunday
12Easter Sunday4 April 2021Sunday
13Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava / Ugadi / Cheti hand / Vaisakhi /Vishu13 April 2021Tuesday
14Mesadi Tamil New Year’s Day14 April 2021Wednesday
15Vaisakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam)15 April 2021Thursday
16Jamat-Ul-Vida7 May 2021Friday
17Guru Rabindranath’s birthday9 May 2021Sunday
18Rath Yatra12 July 2021Monday
19Parsi New Year’s day/Nauraj16 August 2021Monday
20Onum or Thiru Onam Day21 August 2021Saturday
21Raksha Bandhan22 August 2021Sunday
22Janmashtami (Smarta)30 August 2021Monday
23Vinayaka Chaturthi / Ganesh Chaturthi10 September 2021Friday
24Dussehra (Saptami)12 October 2021Tuesday
25Dussehra (Mahashtami)13 October 2021Wednesday
26Dussehra (Mahanavmi)14 October 2021Thursday
27Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday20 October 2021Wednesday
28Karaka Chaturthi (Karwa Chouth)24 October 2021Sunday
29Naraka Chaturdasi3 November 2021Wednesday
30Govardhan Puja5 November 2021Friday
31Bhai Duj6 November 2021Saturday
32Pratihar Shashthi or Surya Shashthi (Chhat Puja)10 November 2021Wednesday
33Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day24 November 2021Wednesday
34Christmas Eve24 December 2021Friday

You can download the PDF from the link below for more details about the Central Government Holidays List 2021.


Government Online Work From Home Data Entry Jobs Without Investment in 2020 (NCS)

How to Become a Freelancer in India and Earn a Monthly Income

Share This Post

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

More To Explore